Skip to main content


SRVUSD By-Trustee Area Map Approved
Posted 3/12/19


On March 11, 2019, the Contra Costa County Board of Education approved the San Ramon Valley Unified School District (SRVUSD) Board of Education’s proposed by-trustee area Map 102, which was developed through extensive community outreach and input as part of the District’s move to by-trustee area elections. County Board of Education approval was the final step in the process of the development of revised maps that define the trustee areas. In a trustee-area election system, each trustee must reside within the designated trustee-area boundary and is elected only by the voters who reside within that boundary.


The Contra Costa County Board of Education spent over three and a half hours Tuesday night reviewing the District’s in-depth analysis of the trustee area maps and related demographic data. The Contra Costa County Board of Education voted 3-1 in favor, with one abstention, to approve Map 102.


“We appreciate the Contra Costa County Board of Education’s time and attention to closely examine the maps, ask thoughtful questions and make an informed decision,” SRVUSD Superintendent Rick Schmitt said. “We are also grateful to our own SRVUSD Board of Education for their leadership and commitment to developing several maps, listening to community feedback and ultimately incorporating the needs of our community into trustee areas that will offer equal representation across our school district and continue our Board of Education's legacy of working to support each family.”


Currently, SRVUSD Board of Education members are elected under an at-large voting system. On November 2, 2018, the District received a petition asserting that the District’s current at-large elections violate the California Voting Rights Act (CVRA). The petition further demanded that the SRVUSD adopt trustee-area elections. On December 11, 2018, the Board adopted Resolution #48-18/19, declaring its intent to transition from at-large to by-trustee area board elections. Since that time, the District held five public hearings and engaged the community in the conversation about the CVRA and the transition to by-trustee area board elections.


“Our parents and community provided excellent input. Their engagement in this important conversation helped to drive the development of maps that reinforce the voters’ choice in placing our current trustees in their position,” SRVUSD Superintendent Rick Schmitt said. “This process validated our community’s support of the work of our Trustees and the District.”


The newly adopted by-trustee area map (Map102) is posted on the District website. In 2020, SRVUSD Board Members Greg Marvel and Mark Jewett will be up for re-election for a four-year term. In 2022, Board Members Rachel Hurd, Ken Mintz and Susanna Ordway will be up for re-election for a four-year term. Following the release of the 2020 census data, the Board of Education will revisit these trustee-area maps based on the updated census data. The census data and associated conversations may lead to the adoption of new maps which would be deployed starting in the 2022 election cycle. Additional information about the District’s process to adopt map 102 can be found on the by-trustee area webpage. Additional information about the Board of Education can be found at the District’s webpage.