Skip to main content

Health Services

Quick Links

SCHOOL NURSE & HEALTH CARE SERVICES


The main focus of our school health services is the prevention of illness and disability and the early detection of health problems.  Our goals are to promote the health and well-being of our students and to provide for an optimal educational experience.  School nurses strengthen and facilitate the educational process by improving and protecting the health status of our students. Our focus includes the identification of health-related barriers to learning and the implementation of adjustments and accommodations supporting all students.  

 

The health educator/school nurse is a licensed registered nurse who has completed additional educational requirements and possesses a current credential in school nursing, a public health credential, and a school audiometry certificate. The health educator/school nurse is specially prepared in preventative health care, health assessment and management, and referral procedures.

 

Each school site has a credentialed school nurse on duty one day a week.  In addition, depending on the health needs at a particular school site, a Specialized Physical Health Care Assistant (SPHCA) may be available to assist students with health care needs.

 

Please contact your school site nurse for any questions and/or concerns.  

 

Credentialed School Nurse Services Include:

  •  Management of student health and medical issues.
  •  Medication administration and training of school staff and para-educators.
  •  Mandated Hearing and Vision Screening in grades K, 2nd, 5th and 8th (CA Ed Code § 49452).
  •  Oversee mandated elementary physical and oral health screenings (BP  5141.3)
  •  Perform state mandated immunization audits.
  •  Case Management which includes Individualized Healthcare Plans for students with significant health problems (i.e. diabetes,   seizures, asthma, severe allergies).
  •  First aid and emergency care, including Student Injury Reports.
  •  Health and Safety Programming, including Hands Only CPR.
  •  Health Education for individual students, classes, staff and school community.
  •  Communicable disease notification and management.
  •  Student concussion consultation and management.
  •  Implementation of the 5th grade Human & Health Development (Puberty Curriculum).
  •  Consultation on 504 plans and Individual Education Plans (IEP).

 

Healthy Children Learn Better
 

Staff

 

Kathy Rooney, MSN, RN

Krooney@srvusd.net

District Nurse Coordinator

Sites: District Office & SRVHS

 

Tracy Fernandez, BS, RN

TFernandez@srvusd.net

Sites: Charlotte Wood MS, Twin Creeks ES, Walt Disney ES, Country Club ES, Pine Valley MS

 

Anju Lashkari, MSN, RN

ALashkari@srvusd.net

Sites: Alamo ES, Los Cerros MS, Stone Valley MS, Green Valley ES, Vista Grande ES

 

Nancy Sheets, BSN, RN

NSheets@srvusd.net

Sites: Diablo Vista MS, Gale Ranch MS, Creekside ES, Tassajara Hills ES, Golden View ES

 

Niko Holmes, BSN, RN

NHolmes@srvusd.net

Sites: Hidden Hills ES, Windemere Ranch MS, Neil Armstrong ES, Bella Vista ES, Quail Run ES

 

Kay Smith, MA, BSN, RN

KSmith01@srvusd.net

Sites: Iron Horse MS, Montevideo ES, Coyote Creek ES, Cal High

 

Rosa Harnetiaux, BSN, RN

RHarnetiaux@srvusd.net

Sites: Greenbrook ES, John Baldwin ES, Live Oak ES

 

Sarah Coleman, MSN, RN

SColeman@srvusd.net

Sites: Monte Vista HS, Bollinger Canyon ES,

Montair ES

 

Abbie Hofstede, BSN, RN

AHofstede@srvusd.net

Sites: Rancho Romero ES, Sycamore ES, Dougherty Valley HS

UA-122323164-1