skip to main content
placeholder for top bar

General Information

The Board of Education is a five person policy-making body which operates within the laws of the State of California and Contra Costa County. Each board member is elected for a four-year term. Terms of office are staggered, with elections held every two years. The Board is responsible for approving the District's budget and adopting all policies and curriculum. The authority of the Board is as a whole and no Board member may act as an official of the District except when the board meets in a regular or a special session. The Board of Education is elected to represent all of the people of the school district. In making its decisions, the Board is guided by what is in the best interest of the entire district.
The Board President, Vice President, and Clerk are selected on a rotating basis during the organizational meeting held in December.


The Board of Education and the Superintendent believe that the creation of a Board Governance Handbook is necessary to provide transparency and stability of agreed-upon and upheld protocols and norms.


Rachel Hurd, President
Area 5
Laura Bratt, Vice President
Area 3
Shelley Clark, Clerk
Area 2
Susanna Ordway
Area 4
Jesse vanZee
Area 1
Anya Ayyappan
Student Board Member